The First Win!

Alright lads! I told Foodie that I would sleep but I still can’t sleep, so here I am, writing a new blog.

So earlier today, I was out with the lads, (the highschool team I’m coaching) on their first football game. I was on the sidelines yelling orders while warming up the back-up goalkeeper Lexus. The game was intense. It was back and forth at first, and then something magical happened. Rubika, scored his first goal of the match!  It was a beautiful curling shot to the top left corner of the goal. Then the half continued for about 5 more minutes, then the ref blew the whistle.

My observations on the first half was, the opponents were bigger (they were playing against a college team), and more physical. So what I did is, I made adjustments to the positions of the players, and had Sam play as a false 9 because he was getting wrecked in the box. I wanted the kid to drop back and make passes since the opponents usually crowd to him when he is inside the box.

14125079_1176534392390514_1277487233006296872_o.jpg
The Team. Standing left to right; Rubika, Arielle, Sam, Kim, Marc, Sean, Ralph, Jemar, Ryan. Sitting, left to right; Rieben, Lexus, Gerald, Kyle, Kenichi, Owen.

 

Second half resumed, and I was closely watching the ball, I then yelled an order to the defender, Arielle, to move forward a little bit and man-mark their striker. Which he did so with good effect. I took Owen out and let Rieben take his slot in the right back position, took Ryan out and put in Marc, since the opponent was playing long balls. The decision paid off since the opponent stopped playing long balls, which was their forte.

They started making errors on the short passing which my team capitalized. Sam managed to intercept the ball, which he then pinged over to the right wing. Kim, who was on the wing, dribbled the ball which drew an extra defender to him then dropped the ball to Rubika.

At that point, everything was in slow motion. Rubika feigned right, and the first defender went off balance. He then did a step over to confuse the second defender then megged him. He then positioned himself, took a shot at the goalkeeper and beat him in the far post! That was his second goal, and the second goal of the game!!

Everything returned to normal after that sequence. With the clock dwindling down, I called for another substitution, and put in Kyle,Ryan and Gerald since I need fresh legs for tomorrow’s game. Jemar, the goal keeper played exceptional in this game. Stopping a lot of chances the opposing team made.

Tomorrow, we will be playing against Arfien, another college team. We will keep the ball rolling and the wins coming in with tactical playing, good decision making, and most important of all, playing football and keeping it fun!

14191627_1141905055845997_1235308168_o.jpg
Two of my attackers. Sam (left) and Kim (right) and yours truly in the middle.

And that’s it for today lads! Once again, this is Footy, and you guys stay cheeky. Cheers!

3 thoughts on “The First Win!

    1. Thanks for that Fred..Well for me, even if they do not win. As long as they give their best, it’s fine. It is a learning experience. That’s what I tell them all the time, always keep it fun, and you’ll be rewarded. And from what I’ve seen and also personally experienced, I play my best games for my club when I’m just having fun. My flair shows.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

