Rusty Gold

I was walking on a gravel road on the way home. The rain just stopped so I’m trying to avoid the puddles in the road. While carefully stepping over a puddle, I saw something shimmer near the side of the road. I walked up to it, and found an old timepiece.

I opened the ornate front of the timepiece, hoping to see some engraving or a picture so I could return it to the owner. But to no avail, there was none. I continued trodding the path towards home, thinking to myself how to find the owner of the watch.

I got to my front porch, and while removing my boots, my neighbor greeted me. He said, “I cannot help but notice the timepiece that you’re holding. Your grandfather would be proud that you found his watch after he lost it years ago.”

I thanked my neighbor, went inside the house, and looked for my grandfather’s trunk. I opened it, and placed the watch together with the other possessions that he left.

flash story.jpg

Photo by Louise Bunting of The Storyteller’s Abode

 

This is in response to a writing challenge by Priceless Joy. Please go ahead and click the link for the writing challenge. Stories written by other authors could be found here.

3 thoughts on “Rusty Gold

  1. That is wonderful that he found his own grandfather’s watch that had been lost years ago. This is a wonderful story and it really pulled me into the story. Welcome to the FFfAW Challenge! We are happy you have joined us!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

